Cisco CCIP

The CCIP™ (Cisco Certified Internetwork Professional) certification provides individuals with competencies in infrastructure or access solutions in a Cisco end-to-end environment. CCIP professionals have a detailed understanding of the diverse technologies in the telecommunications arena including IP routing, IP multicast, cable, DSL, content networking, IP telephony, QoS, MPLS, and IP+optical networking. Learn more about CCIP certification from Cisco Systems®.


CCNA® certification is a prerequisite for CCIP certification.


There are four required exams for CCIP certification:
642-902 ROUTE
642-642 QOS
642-611 MPLS
642-661 BGP

Candidates may also take the combined 642-691 BGP+MPLS exam instead of the separate MPLS and BGP exams.

Register at to take the CCIP Exams

CCIP Self-Study Resources from Cisco Press

The Certification Self-Study Product Family is comprised of the Self-Study Guide Series, the Exam Certification Guide Series, and the Flash Cards and Exam Practice Pack Series. These series offer a progressive, self-paced study routine for Cisco certification exams, with tools that help certification candidates learn exam topics, gain hands-on experience, prepare for the exam, and practice their test taking skills. For more information on each series and how the books complement one another, visit our Series pages.

642-902 ROUTE Exam
CCNP ROUTE 642-902 Official Certification Guide
CCNP ROUTE 642-902 Cert Kit
CCNP ROUTE 642-902 Cert Flash Cards Online
CCNP ROUTE Portable Command Guide
CCNP ROUTE 642-902 Quick Reference
Implementing Cisco IP Routing (ROUTE) Foundation Learning Guide

MPLS and VPN Architectures
MPLS and VPN Architectures, Vol. II

Quality of Service
Cisco QOS Exam Certification Guide, Second Ed.
Cisco IP Telephony Flash Cards and Exam Practice Pack

Internet Routing Architectures, Second Ed.

View the complete CCIP catalog from Cisco Press

Training Courses

Four training courses are recommended for the CCIP required exams: Building Scalable Cisco Internetworks (BSCI), Implementing Cisco MPLS, Implementing Cisco Quality of Service (QOS), and Configuring BGP on Cisco Routers. For candidates taking the Composite exam, Building Cisco Multilayer Switched Networks (BCMSN) is also recommended.

Cisco Press Certification Self-Study books and software are part of a recommended learning path from Cisco Systems that can include simulation and hands-on training from authorized Cisco Learning Partners and self-study products from Cisco Press. To find out more about instructor-led training, e-learning, and hands-on instruction offered by authorized Cisco Learning Partners worldwide, please visit


CCIP certifications are valid for three years. Individuals who hold an active Cisco CCNP, CCDP, CCIP, CCSP, or CCVP certification will recertify their professional-level certifications when they pass any other Cisco professional-level certification exam. Certification holders will continue to re-certify their professional level certifications when they pass any CCIE written exam.